Olivier Stankiewicz


Biography Press reviews Contact Audio Videos

In 2015 Olivier was appointed principal oboe of the London Symphony Orchestra and won 1st Prize at the Young Concert Artists auditions in New York. Engagements this season include recitals at Wigmore Hall, Snape Maltings and the Louvre.  

In 2015 Olivier won 1st Prize at the Young Concert Artists auditions in Leipzig and New York. In the same year he was appointed principal oboe of the London Symphony Orchestra.

Recent highlights include debut concerts in the US at Merkin Concert Hall, Morgan Library (New York), the Isabella Gardner Museum (Boston), Wigmore Hall and Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (Germany).

As a soloist he has performed Berio’s Chemins IV with the Orchestre National du Capitole Toulouse, Mozart with the London Symphony Orchestra, Bernd Alois Zimmerman’s Concerto with the French National Orchestra broadcast by Radio France Musique, Benjamin Attahir’s Concerto Nur in Suntory Hall with the Tokyo Sinfonietta  and Edwin Roxburgh with Barcelona Wind Symphony in L’Auditori.

Engagements this season include recitals at Wigmore Hall, Snape Maltings and the Louvre  collaborating with Alasdair Beatson, the Doric and Castalian String Quartets. He appears as soloist with the Orchestre de Lille and takes part in the  Aix-en-Provence Easter Festival with Renaud Capuçon. Committed to new music, Olivier premieres a new commission by Laurent Durupt in Paris and London.

Born in Nice in 1989, Olivier studied oboe and theory at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris (2009-2014).  Awards during his studies included 1st Prize at the 2012 International Oboe Competition in Japan, and in 2013 he was named “classical revelation” by the French association ADAMI. He was selected by Young Classical Artists Trust in 2016 and is currently Professor of Oboe at the Royal College of Music in London.

Olivier was principal oboe of the ONCT between 2011-2015 and has been invited as guest principal with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, London Sinfonietta, Philadephia Symphony and Royal Concertgebouw Orchestras. Chamber collaborators include Alvise Siniva (Duo Widmung), Thomas Dunford (theorbo), Jean Rondeau (harpsichord), the Amadeus Ensemble, Richard Uttley (piano) and Yan Levionnois (cello).  

In 2011 Olivier was a founder member of the WARN!NG Collective, a group that frequently commission new works, experimenting with sound painting, improvisation and innovative performance experiences. Their work has included concert-installations at the Gaîté Lyrique, Printemps des Arts of Monaco, and several broadcasts on France Musique.

Press reviews

“Olivier Stankiewicz, principal oboe of the London Symphony Orchestra, with pianist Alasdair Beatson brought extraordinary drama to the Temporal Variations (1936).”

The Guardian / Snape Maltings Britten Weekend / October 2018

“Olivier Stankiewicz’s oboe solo later on was touchingly tender in its masterful precision. ”

Classical Source / LSO Daniel Harding / February 2018

“Olivier Stankiewicz's lovely mellow oboe tone could lull even the most insomniac Titania to restful repose.”

Bachtrack / LSO Sir John Eliot Gardener / February 2016

“...Stankiewicz’s oboe rose from striking, perfectly precise spirals and volleys to a stark, burred, woody tone …. a showcase for Ware’s vigorous clarity and Stankiewicz’s seemingly effortless command of rapidfire trills, matched by long, airy, plaintive phrasing. ”

New York Music Daily / Morgan Library NY / February 2018

“La couleur si expressive, les nuances subtiles et la virtuosité que rien ne retient ont été très bien employées dans cette pièce si délicate... La aussi l’entente entre le chef et le soliste a été admirable et la battue si précise a permis aux cordes de ne faire qu’un avec le hautbois si élégant d’Olivier Stankiewicz.”

Culture 31 / Orchestre National du Capitole Toulouse - Berio Chemins IV / June 2016
Download publicity pack




To engage Olivier, please contact Sue Hudson, Senior Artist Manager:



020 7379 8477

Follow Olivier on: